Tattoo’s…Piercings…Oh My!

Recently I got a tattoo and quite a few piercings, as everyone keeps asking me about it I thought I’d write about my experience here, as it seems to be a topic of interest…

What’s the tattoo?

The tattoo is for my mum, and it’s something that I’ve wanted for years. When she used to tuck me in (for I’m not going to admit how many years!) she used to say the same thing each night;

Goodnight,
Sleep Tight,
Sweet Dreams,
See You In the Morning,
I Love You.

Whenever she said this, I never had a bad dream, whenever I was away on a school trip or at a friend’s house she’d text it to me, and as it happens, those were the last words I ever said to her… yeah, turns out I’m a sap – don’t tell anyone!

So I decided to get that, surrounded by lilies which were her favourite flower.

img_1760

The other tattoo is “Darling” which is what I called my mum, as she was my Mother Darling…

Where are the tattoo’s?

So the Goodnight, Sleep tight is on my ribs, the lilies are on my stomach and back, and the Darling is on my wrist…

Where did you get them done?

At a sweet tattoo studio in Bromley called Valhalla… the lovely Sarah Sparkes did my tattoo’s and I couldn’t be happier with them! Seriously guys, I totally recommend this place if you’re looking for a tattoo, especially you’re first. It’s intimidating going into a tattoo studio usually, but at Valhalla, they’re so lovely I instantly felt welcome! And they totally take care of newbies like me!

Sarah was amazing when tattooing me, she was so open and honest about what to expect, and was happy work around me. If I needed a break, she was more than happy to give me a break, and was always checking in with me to see how I was doing!

 

Were you scared about the pain?

Nah… I honestly didn’t think of it! I wanted the tattoo too much, and I knew it was going to hurt, so I didn’t bother to think about the pain which was inevitable. I imagine that’s what it’s like when you’re pregnant… you know there’s going to be pain, but what’s the point in thinking about it!? Not that having a tattoo is anything like giving birth… well I hope at least!!

Did it hurt?

Bloody hell, yes! I got my ribs done first, which killed! As it was on my ribs I had to lay on my side with my arm over my head which is not the comfiest of positions. I think it wouldn’t have been so bad if I were laying on my front or back, but because I had to hold the position which isn’t that natural I think it made it more uncomfortable.

The first hour I was doing okay, I mean yeah, it hurt, but it was bearable. The last half an hour though… oh… my… god… As the skin was already raw from the outline, the shading on my ribs hurt like a mother!

Sarah was really lovely though, she could tell I was struggling and offered me breaks whenever I needed one!

The pain was so bad, but it was so worth it for how my tattoo looks, and how amazing it makes me feel! It feels as though I have a piece of my mum with me all the time now, and I couldn’t be happier! Getting my back tattooed wasn’t too bad, but my stomach and ribs were horrible! Never again!

My wrist barely hurt after that – it burned a little, but not even worthy of clenching my muscles to fight the pain! I could also see what she was tattooing on my wrist so could see how far along she was, whereas on my ribs, back and stomach I was blind, so had no idea how long was left!

imgp1830

Would you get any other tattoo’s?

Hell yeah! Already got my next 3 planned out – they’re so addictive! They all mean something to me, and represent a time in my life, past, present and future.

Will you regret it?

How can I regret something that represents my mum, and the love I had for her, and the love she had for me? That, for me is what my tattoo’s represent, and all future tattoos represent my friends, family and life as I’ve gone through different trials, and have still come out the other end fighting. I can’t regret what made the person I am today…

Why all the piercings?

Now here’s where it gets a little deep and philosophical… I’ve been stuck in limbo since August… will or won’t my mum survive… will or won’t she make a recovery… when will it be the end to her suffering?

Not being able to truly live as I was always worrying about my mum, and had to be ready to drop all plans at a moment’s notice to be there for her.

Once she passed, I thought Limbo would be over… but it wasn’t… I was then in Limbo over my job… the house… when I can leave… Everything in my life felt so out of my control, but there was one thing I could control… my appearance.

You know how when you go through a bad breakup, you go out and drastically cut your hair, partly to prove to yourself you’re a different person, a daredevil, that you won’t be hindered, and partly due to the fact that you need a change from the oppressive feelings of hopelessness…

…Well, instead of getting a hair cut, I got pierced… nothing drastic, just a small nose stud and a few piercings in my ear, something that made me feel like a different person, like I’m no longer living in Limbo, like I’m becoming me…

I’m not sure if it’s a long term solution, but it’s sure cheered me up in the short-term! No regrets!

 

One thought on “Tattoo’s…Piercings…Oh My!

Add yours

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑